Home Forums Growing Spirulina Agitation Time

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  JesurunTiger 1 week, 5 days ago.

• Author

paulus1971
    Participant

Hi,

i am a newbie. thank you very much for providing information about how to grow spirulina.

I have questions regarding agitation (i am planning to have a big tank of spirulina, so i dont think airpump is sufficient in this case):
    1. How many hours a day is the agitation?
    2. What is the best time to do the agitation?

thank you

JesurunTiger

Hello Paulus and welcome to the forum.

Spirulina has been studied for long time, but there isnt so many solid rules for growing it. Best way is to research yourself and try new things!

Usually, agitation is done with paddle wheels in commercial level.

But you can do it manually with almost anything.

Just remember that you dont use too much force, but agitate slowly since the spirulina filaments can break down. Also dont use too big air pump for the same reason, as also the bubbles will create shear forces, that break down the algae.

I think best is that you use air pump and also agitate manually. When it is dark, you should let the algae rest: agitate during the daylight.

I use air pump with timer, it is on for half hour in every couple hours. And also once or two times a day, I agitate manually with a stick.

• This reply was modified 2 weeks, 6 days ago by  JesurunTiger.

Elliander
    Participant

I use food grade aeration tubes weight down to the bottom with quartz. A total of 4 tubes to the bottom of each tank, with a splitter coming out from the Whisper 300 air pump that normally has 2. I leave it running 24/7 which keeps it constantly agitated. I find that it’s safe overall to leave it off up to a few hours at a time (such as in a power outage) but it starts clumping if I do that.

I observed under the microscope that the Spirulina will move around each other to protect each other from strong light.