Home Forums Classified Photobioreactors

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  alexshull 4 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

mdrever
    Participant

Hi,

I have a start up that can make all kinds of heat sealed parts up to 38 x 58″. I have been experimenting with algae grown in bags for the last several months. Here is a photo of my latest iteration with some culture happily growing inside of it. If you are interested in me making one for you let me know. If you have a custom design you’d like to try out, let me know as well.

You can see some of the stuff we have made at http://www.expandable-structures.com

Thanks!
    Mike

This the PBR I printed.

• This topic was modified 1 year, 11 months ago by  mdrever. Reason: Added picture

Martin
    Participant

Hey – that looks pretty cool. Is the plastic non leaching? What is it made of? Do you have bubbles in the plastic? How do you move the spirulina around?

How much does it costs?

Dr Cath
    Keymaster

It does look very cool, thank you for sharing. I’d love to know more about it. In addition to Martin’s comments, I’d like to know what your system yields? Is it possible to warm up the culture medium for spirulina growers that live in cooler areas?

How do you add nutrients to the system? And how easy is it to harvest? A video would be great!

Thanks!
    DrCath

mdrever
    Participant

Martin,

The plastic I used is food grade polyethylene. I don’t know what you mean about bubbles in the plastic. If you are asking about aeration, I put in a separate line as the spirulina like to clog the aeration lines and I’ve had to pull it to clean it. I don’t really move the spirulina, I have bubbles coming from the bottom and that tends to move them around, plus the aquarium pump is mounted directly to the bag, so it agitates the spirulina a little bit.

DrCath,