Home Forums Growing Spirulina Yellow sediments and nutrient levels

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Miyaruman 8 months, 4 weeks ago.

• Author

Miyaruman
    Participant

Hello everyone!
    I started my spirulina culture, here in Italy about two months ago and everything seems to be going sort of ok. I guess the temperature and sun exposure have some sort of effect.
    I have a mother culture of about 100 mL that I every two weeks I empty out the contents into another 100ml flask and fill both up with a nutrient mix of water and Bicarbonate.

First question:
    What carbonate concentration is needs to be added per L of water to achieve a pH of 9?
    – yesterday I saw that my nutrient solution was actually acidic (pH 6 – yeah I know! Newbie here :/) so I started adding Sodium bicarbonate and only achieved a ph of 9.

Second question:
    Is there a difference (pros/cons) between using Sodium bicarbonate rather than Calcium carbonate? and related to that is there a difference (between the two carbonates) in concentration to be applied?

Now, the contents of the second flask tend to be a bit more yellowish, so I add chelated iron to the culture.

Third question:
    What concentration of chelated iron should be added and how often?

On the note of the yellowish color, there are also yellow “clumps” on the bottom and I was wondering if I need to remove those, or there harmless? (I would assume that they could be used as nutrients, but not sure)

Any help is well appreciated! Thank you and sorry if you cringed at my nutrient solution being pH 6, I’m trying to gear up and have all parameters in check, but need help/suggestions from Spirulina veterans like you guys!

Thanks,
    MM

Brian
    Participant